Laurent Baig – The Wild Light

August 28, 2008

Surprising Scenes

Filed under: Around Tucson, Photography — Laurent @ 10:18 pm
Marshall Gulch

Marshall Gulch

My girlfriend, Jade, and I went for a hike a couple Saturdays ago.  We hiked the Marshall Gulch – Aspen Draw loop in the Santa Catalinas.  I was unprepared for what I saw:  abundant growth! To think we’re only an hour drive up a windy road from the desert below.  We’d hiked the trail a month or so before and there was water flowing, but the ground was still dry and the vegetation still minimal.  A few columbines here and there, but no great display of wildflowers.  I had my G9 with me, but no tripod so last Saturday I hiked up there again right after a storm moved through.  I composed this with the G9, and proceeded to set up the 4×5 as I liked the potential that I saw in the scene.

I couldn’t help but play with the digital image a bit while the film is sitting on a shelf waiting to be developed.  And as I did, I learned a little bit more about how to develop a raw file.  Previously, I’d been reluctant to print anything from the G9 as I had some funky artifacts showing up.  Now I feel a bit better about my processing, both in terms of controlling contrasts and viewer focus, and also in terms of handling the output of a digital camera.

One of the things I’m really enjoying about photography is the semi-constant learning process.  I start getting comfortable with what I know, and then I learn something new.  It’s really pretty exciting and always makes me look forward to the next image I’m going to work on. I only hope the film turns out as good!

1 Comment »

  1. Inspiring image, Laurent! Great composition and beautiful rich greens.

    Guy

    Comment by Guy — August 29, 2008 @ 2:34 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

