Laurent Baig – The Wild Light

April 11, 2009

Missing the act of photography

Filed under: Uncategorized — Laurent @ 8:27 am
Blooming Ocotillo

Blooming Ocotillo

I confess, I have a day job and  I photograph because I like the act of photography.  It’s a creative outlet to balance my otherwise (supposedly) scientifically trained mind.  I finally took some time off of work to step out into the natural world for an evening.  It just happened to be an evening when the wind hasn’t been blowing 20+mph which it does in the spring.  Nope, it was only blowing 8mph.  But I’d been moping for a few weeks so I had to get out.  It’s like I need to photograph or at least practice photography.  I’ve been playing my guitar a lot more lately.  Sometimes I play well, most of the time I play wrong notes, squeak the strings, and yell expletives at my poor performance, but it doesn’t matter that I play a brilliant performance because I don’t really play for anyone but me.  I think it’s the same with photography.  I need to practice and I’ve gotten out of practice.  I stopped going outside so I stopped having opportunities to see.  I missed that… Time to go for another walk.

1 Comment »

  1. I have been noticing the blooming ocotillos on my runs and I’m happy to see that you’ve captured them!

    By the way, your guitar has been sounding great…keep doing what you do and share with others every now and then.

    Comment by Nelson — April 11, 2009 @ 9:39 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

